Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
After you receive your final bill, you have until March 1st, to file an abatement with the City. If you still disagree with your assessment, you may appeal to the Board of Tax and Land Appeals or Superior Court by September 1. For more information, refer to our
If you have purchased the vehicle from a Licensed New Hampshire Auto Dealer and the vehicle is a model year 2000 or newer, you will need a Title Application (blue or white); it is strongly recommended that you bring in the window sticker for your vehicle to ensure the correct MSRP is used for your transaction. If the vehicle was purchased through a private sale and is a model year 2000 or newer, you will need to bring in the title signed over to you, as well as a bill of sale. The title must be signed over to the buyer by the seller.
If you plan to use plates from a previous vehicle you must bring in the original registration from the previous vehicle. For all vehicles older than a 2000 you will need a properly executed TDMV-19A or a copy of a previous New Hampshire registration as well as a
If your project proposes to disturb a wetland, waterbody, or their buffers, as described in 235-17., you will likely need a wetlands Conditional Use Permit (CUP), and go before the Conservation Commission. If there is any doubt on whether your project will have an impact to a wetland/waterbody/etc., you must hire a Certified Wetlands Scientist (CWS) to review the project and delineate any wetlands.
The Conservation Commission is an advisory board that make comments and recommendations on applications, which are provided to the Planning Board.
If you are proposing cutting within the Shoreline Protection Overlay District (SPOD), within the vegetative buffer that is 50ft from the reference line:
235-19.F. (1)(b):Within this area, dead, diseased, unsafe, noxious or fallen trees or saplings may be removed, provided that dead and living trees that provide dens and nesting places for wildlife are encouraged to be preserved.
235-19.F.(1)(c): Existing trees of less than four inches in diameter measured at 4.5 feet above the ground may be removed, and larger trees may be pruned, provided that a well-distributed stand of trees is maintained and that disturbance of the soil and forest floor is minimized.
235-19. F.(2)(6): No stumps can be removed within 50 feet of the shoreline, although they can be ground down.
Outside of the 50 foot vegetative buffer within the SPOD, the City has no restrictions on tree cutting, however, you may need to file an intent-to-cut with the State of New Hampshire if you plan to cut 1000 MBF or 20 cords for harvest. If you have questions about tree cutting, contact the Conservation Technician in the Laconia Planning Department.
If you are proposing logging or cutting within a wetland, vernal pool or waterbody, or their protective buffers, per 235-17. F.:
(1): Logging operations which:
(a) Utilize best management practices as described in Best Management Practices for Erosion Control on Timber Harvesting Operations in New Hampshire; and
(b) Comply with all applicable state laws including obtaining and filing an intent-to-cut form according to RSA 79:10, and filing a complete Notification of Forest Management Activities Having Minimum Wetlands Impact according to RSA 482-A:3, or obtaining a State Wetlands Board permit according to RSA 482-A.
If you are not conducting a logging operation, you will need a wetland Conditional Use Permit in order to cut trees, under 235-17.H. (1) “Activities that alter or remove soils or vegetation including clearing, dredging, draining or filling.” Contact the Conservation Technician in the Planning Department for more information
If you are proposing to cut trees in a conservation open space within a development:
Conservation open spaces consist of significant of unique stands of trees in good health, defined under 235-40 as,
"trees that are six inches or greater in diameter at breast height, in good health, of a noninvasive species and/or present a significant visual impact on the surrounding area or landscape."Dead, diseased and dying trees can be removed from conservation open spaces, but the condition of the tree should be confirmed by a trained arborist or forester, unless obvious (i.e. tree is clearly dead and falling over). Permission should be obtained from the City, as well as the homeowners association that you live in.
Pervious means that the surface is permeable and water can pass through, such as crushed stone, patio pavers, decking, and permeable pavement.
Impervious means that the surface is impermeable and that water cannot pass through, forcing it to runoff, such as asphalt, concrete, brick, and rooftops.
Per 235-13: GREEN SPACE: Land area with landscaped or natural vegetation, including those vegetated areas located under upper story decks, porches and overhangs that are a minimum of seven feet from the ground at the lowest elevation.
Minimum green space requirements can be found in 235 Attachment 3, Table III- Table of Dimensional Requirements, here.
The percentage of green space can be calculated by totaling the square footage of impervious surface, dividing it by the total square footage of the property, multiplying by 100, and then subtracting the final percentage of impervious area from 100. Ex: 1500 sq ft (impervious) / 4,356 sq ft (total sq ft of property) = .344 sq ft .344 sq ft x 100 = 34.4% (percent of property that is impervious). 100% (entire property) - 34.4% (percent of property that is impervious) = 65.6% total green space.
Conservation Easement: A voluntary, legal agreement between the City and private landowner that permanently limits the use of land in order to protect its conservation values. If you are interested in learning more, or potentially looking to have a conservation easement on your property, please contact the Conservation Technician.
Conservation Open Space: Per, 234-40.B.(6)(f)[c]: Land in cluster developments with the designation of conservation open space is required for significant or unique environmentally sensitive areas, including but not limited to wetlands, wildlife habitat, endangered flora/fauna, stream beds and water bodies, significant stands of trees, scenic vistas, archeological sites and graveyards. Land area within conservation open space shall permanently remain in its natural state except for maintenance and access to archeological sites and graveyards.
The following are permitted uses, per 235-40.B.(4)(b):
[a] Recreational vehicle access crossings.
[b] Pedestrian trail systems.
[c] Buffer area: perimeter, wetlands waterbody, shoreline.
Current Use: A program under the NH Department of Revenue (RSA 79-A) to incentivize property owners to conserve their undeveloped land (typically at least 10 acres in size) by receiving a tax break. For more information see the Assessor’s page, here.
For contact information for the various departments and programs within NHDES, please refer to their website, here.
Yes, burn permits are required for campfires and brush fires throughout the year. Permits are available free of charge to the property owner by stopping by Central Station or the Weirs Fire Station. They are also available online. Learn more by visiting our Fire Prevention Page.
For information regarding location, flow, and current status of the city fire hydrants please contact Water Works at 603-524-0901.
Car Seat Safety Inspections are not conducted at the Laconia Fire Stations. Appropriate resources can be found at the following sites:
Gilford Fire Department 603-527-4758
Gilford Police Department 603-527-4737
Monday -Thursday: 9-8
Things to know when visiting the Library:
*Patrons are strongly encouraged to wear masks while in the library building. Disposable masks will be available if needed.
*30 patrons will be allowed in the building at any given time.
*Curbside pickup is still available.
No. IAW with State law, operators of vehicles with handicapped visitors in the vehicle and the vehicle has a handicapped placard or plate do not have to pay to park. Handicapped vehicles are limited to the parking time restrictions for that area.
The devices that take the dollar bill are very maintenance intensive and the City does not have the personnel to maintain those devices.
Yes. The sticker is valid only for the parking lot at Endicott Beach.
No. The receipt is just for your records.
The kiosk only prints a receipt when the resident asks for one.
The Visitor will need to pay again and enter the correct number.
The system does not keep track of who is in a parking space. Therefore a customer cannot extend the time. The system will treat any customer attempting to extend the time as a new customer and will rest the time on the space. Therefore the customer should wait till near the expiration time and purchase another period of time.
The city has created 2, 3 and 5 hour parking spaces on Lakeside Avenue. The time limits are posted on the parking signs in the area you parked. The kiosk will only let you purchase the amount of time allowed for the space where you parked.
We are open from 8:30 to 4:30 Monday to Friday.
Use the descriptions below to find where your proposal fits:
- Single or Two-Unit Dwelling Unit: Single unit and two-unit residential properties are exempt from Site Plan regulations. Any building or alterations to these units please see the Building Code Office.
- Non-Residential, Commercial, or Multiple Dwelling Unit (structures with 3 or more dwelling units): If you plan on developing, expanding, or changing the use of your non-residential, commercial, OR multiple dwelling unit property, please refer to the information below to determine which category your proposal fits within.
Probably. Laconia allows what we call "Accessory Dwelling Unit" in single family homes located in a residential zone. There are some restrictions and conditions and an application is required. Please call 603-527-1264 for more information or email Planning@laconianh.gov.
Call the Dept. of Public works at 528-6379. The Solid Waste Coordinator will ensure that you are on a regular collection route and will notify our trash hauler to begin curbside collection.
The regulation size is a 32-gal container.
Single family dwellings are allowed 2 32-gallon containers weekly.
Duplexes are allowed 2 32-gallon containers per unit for a total of 4 32-gallon containers weekly.
Triplexes are allowed 2 32-gallon containers per unit for a total of 6 32-gallon containers weekly.
Apartment buildings (with 4 or more apartments) and commercial stops are allowed a total of 7 32-gal containers weekly.
No later than 6 am is the rule, but you may place it out no earlier than 7 PM the night before.
Trash cans should be removed from the curb by 7 PM on collection day.
The City sells 18 gallon bins, but you may use any container of your choice as long as it is clearly labeled "RECYCLING." The City has free RECYCLING stickers for this purpose. There is NO LIMIT on the recycling households can leave curbside.
Yes. Both metal and non-metal bulky items require "Bulky Item" stickers. Stickers are available for $6 at the City Clerk's office (45 Beacon St. E Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30). Non-metal bulky items are collected on the normal trash day. Metal items are collected once a month; call DPW Office (528-6379) to register for pickup of metal bulky items. Freon-containing items (refrigerators, dehumidifiers, . . . ) are NOT ELIGIBLE for curbside pickup.
Yes, you need an Aquatherm registration through the State of NH Department of Safety for a dock bubbler, which is filed with the Laconia City Clerk. The fee is $0.50 and form can be found here.
Per 235-19.B, the SPOD is in place to, "minimize the degradation of shorelands, protect water quality, and assure the retention of benefits provided by such shorelands” and includes “all land within 250 feet of the reference line of public waters as listed in 235-19.C.
Part or the entire shoreline of Lake Winnipesaukee, Paugus Bay, Lake Opechee, and Lake Winnisquam are included in the SPOD. More details can be found under 235-19. C. of the City Ordinance.
Prohibited uses can be found in Chapter 235-19. D. of the City Ordinance.
(1) Establishment or expansion of salt storage sheds, junkyards and solid or hazardous waste facilities.
(2) Use of fertilizer, particularly those containing phosphorus, with the following exceptions:[Amended 8-13-2012 by Ord. No. 09.2012.09]
(a) Use of lime and/or wood ash; or
(b) In conjunction with agricultural activities and operations.
(3) Bulk storage of chemical fertilizer, pesticides and herbicides.[Amended 8-13-2012 by Ord. No. 09.2012.09]
(a) The use and application of pesticides and herbicides.
(4) Bulk storage of petroleum products or hazardous materials.
(5) Sand and gravel excavations as defined in RSA 155-E, Local Regulation, Excavation.
(6) Processing of excavated materials.
(7) Dumping or disposal of snow and ice collected from roadways or parking areas outside the district.
(8) Car washing facilities.
(9) Auto repair and body shops.
(10) Chemical and bacteriological laboratories.
(11) Commercial painting, wood preserving and furniture stripping.
(12) Dry cleaning.
(13) Electronic circuit assembly.
(14) Laundromats unless connected to a municipal sewer system.
(15) Metal plating.
(16) Photographic processing.
(18) Invasive species as listed under New Hampshire DES banned invasive species list.[Added 8-13-2012 by Ord. No. 09.2012.09]
(19) The definition of "hazardous waste" as defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency: "Hazardous waste is waste that is dangerous or potentially harmful to our health or the environment. Hazardous wastes can be liquids, solids, gases, or sludges. They can be discarded commercial products, like cleaning fluids or pesticides, or the by-products of manufacturing processes." (See http://www.epa.gov/osw/hazard for a more detailed list.)
[Added 8-13-2012 by Ord. No. 09.2012.09]
Per 235-19. D. (2), the use of fertilizer, particularly those containing phosphorus, is prohibited within the SPOD with the following exceptions:
(a) Use of lime and/or wood ash; or
(b) In conjunction with agricultural activities and operations.
No, you do not need a permit from the City to replace or install a dock. However, you will likely need a permit from NHDES. Click the link to use a tool created by NHDES to determine if your project needs a NHDES Shoreland Permit: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/shoreland.
No local permit is necessary, however a permit from NHDES is needed to build/replace a retaining wall along a protected shoreline. More information can be found here.
Per 235-19. F.(2):
(b) New primary structures and additions to existing structures shall be set back at least 50 feet from the reference line of public waters, provided that no disturbance of the vegetative buffer area occurs within 50 feet of the reference line and that any disturbance within 50 feet of the reference line is revegetated with a variety of native and/or noninvasive species and stabilized.
[Amended 10-14-1997 by Ord. No. 10.97.10; 8-13-2012 by Ord. No. 09.2012.09]
(c) No primary structure or additions thereto shall exceed 35 feet in height.
[Amended 10-14-1997 by Ord. No. 10.97.10]
The meter will need to be read 2 days prior to the closing. The final bill request form can be accessed here /DocumentCenter/View/7606. We will prepare a final bill for pick up at the office or e-mail to the closing company/realtor. Currently there is no charge for final bills.
There are two parts to the water/sewer bill. The first part is the base rate. A single family house will be billed a $21 base rate per quarter for water and a $40.00 base rate per quarter for sewer. The second charge is the consumption charge. Water is billed at $2.35 per hundred cubic feet and sewer is billed at $5.57 per hundred cubic feet. Each bill will fluctuate due to the amount of water that goes through the meter.
Quick Reference formula for invoice calculation
- (Number of units times $21) plus (consumption times $2.35/hcf) equals quarterly water invoice
- (Number of units times $40.00) plus (consumption times $5.57/hcf) equals quarterly sewer invoice
- (Number of units times rate of fire protection items) equals quarterly fire protection invoice
Note: Franchise areas (specific service areas outside of city limits) are charged a 15 % surcharge for water. Charges are $24.15 base charge and consumption charges of $2.70/hcf. See Tariff for complete rate schedules. Unmetered Sewer Charges are a flat rate of $265.00 and are billed semi-annually by the tax collector.
Laconia Water Department posts its annual "Our Daily Water" Consumer Confidence Report elsewhere on this website. The report is also mailed to all property owners in the spring of each year.
Confidence Report 2020
Yes, you must reimburse assistance granted if returned to an income status and if such reimbursement can be made without financial hardship. RSA 165:20-b.
The law requires the municipality to place a lien for welfare aid received on any real estate owned by an assisted person in all cases except for just cause.
RSA 165:19 Liability for Support. The relation of any poor person in the line father, mother, stepfather, stepmother, son, daughter, husband, or wife shall assist or maintain such person when in need of relief. Said relation shall be deemed able to assist such person if his weekly income is more than sufficient to provide a reasonable subsistence compatible with decency and health.
Should a relation refuse to render such aid when requested to do so by a county commissioner, selectman or overseer of public welfare, such person or persons shall upon complaint of one of these officials be summoned to appear in court.
Under state law and the Welfare Guidelines of the City, any recipient of assistance may be required to work for the City or an appropriate local human service agency at any available bona fide job that is within his/her capacity (RSA 165:31) for the purpose of reimbursement of benefits received. Participants in the workfare program are not considered employees of the municipality, and any work performed by workfare participants does not give rise to any employee-employer relationship between the recipient/workfare participant and the City.
Unfortunately, the Welfare Office does not offer daycare services.
- Proof of Identification: Photo ID, Birth Certificates, Social Security Cards for yourself and all members in your household.
- Proof of all sources of income/resources: Employment (past 4 weeks of pay stubs), Social Security Income, Tax Refund or Tax return, child support, unemployment, workers compensation and any other source of income. Proof of all resources: checking account and/or savings account statements, IRAs, Certificates of Deposit, life insurance policies, etc.
- Proof of all expenses: Rent (by having your landlord fill out the form attached to the application); utility bills, phone bills, food receipts, tuition, prescriptions, insurance, auto repair and any other expense for the last 4 weeks.
- Eviction notices or utilities disconnect notices.
- Proof that you applied or are receiving Food Stamps, TANF, Medicaid, fuel assistance, electrical assistance and/or any other assistance.
The best method is to call us at 603-527-1267. We can answer your questions and assess your situation and direct you to any other programs that will also be beneficial to you.
To apply for City assistance, you can visit our office and get an application for assistance along with other forms that may be appropriate. You can also print one from our website. Once this application is completed, you will need to call 527-1267 to set an appointment.
Included in your application will be a list of documentation that is required to determine eligibility.
(1)The WC District shall consist of all lands which meet the definition of wetlands, as specified in Article II, and wetland waterbody buffers as designated in this section, and vernal pools as defined in Article II.
[Amended 5-22-2000 by Ord. No. 05.2000.05; 10-14-2008 by Ord. No. 07.2008.07]
(2) The WC District shall be superimposed upon/ other zoning districts in this chapter, and the regulations pertaining to the WC District shall be in addition to the regulations of the underlying districts and other City ordinances and regulations. Where any provision of these regulations imposes restrictions different from those imposed by any other ordinance, rule, regulation or other provision of law, whichever provisions are more restrictive or impose higher standards shall control.
(3) Wetlands and vernal pools shall be delineated by a certified soil scientist as licensed by the State of New Hampshire.
[Amended 10-14-2008 by Ord. No. 07.2008.07]
Ideally, any potential vernal pool will be surveyed in the springtime, March-May, when they are the most prevalent.
Per 235-17.B(2), the purpose is to;
Ensure the protection of wetland and waterbody buffer areas from activities that would adversely affect their ability to protect wetlands from degradation to:
(a) Prevent erosion and sedimentation by stabilizing soil.
(b) Moderate the effects of stormwater runoff by filtering sediment, nutrients and harmful or toxic substances, and moderating thermal discharges.
(c) Protect and maintain wildlife habitat.
(d) Support and protect wetland plant species.
(e) Reduce the disturbances to wetland resources caused by intrusion of human activity.
(1) Wetland buffer areas shall be defined as all land lying:
(a) Within 100 feet outside the boundary of any prime wetland.
(b) Within 75 feet outside the boundary of any non-prime wetland contiguous to public waters and including the following brooks: Durkee Brook, Jewett Brook, Black Brook, Langley Brook, Mellinger Brook and unnamed brooks designated A through I on the Official Zoning Map.
(c) Within 50 feet outside the boundary of any other wetland.
(2) Wetland buffer maintenance. Wetland buffers shall be retained and maintained in their natural condition. Where wetland buffer disturbance is permitted pursuant to this chapter, revegetation of the disturbed area is required.
(3) Vernal pool buffers. Vernal pool buffer areas shall be defined as all land lying within 100 feet outside the boundary of any vernal pool.
(4) Vernal pool buffer maintenance. Vernal pool buffers shall be retained and maintained in their natural condition. Where vernal pool buffer disturbance is permitted pursuant to this chapter, revegetation of the disturbed area is required.
Per 235-17. E.,Waterbody buffers shall be retained and maintained in their natural condition. Where waterbody buffer disturbance is permitted pursuant to this chapter, revegetation of the disturbed area is required to the greatest extent possible. Waterbody buffers are defined as all land lying:
(1) Within 75 feet of the following brooks: Durkee Brook, Jewett Brook, Black Brook, Langley Brook, Mellinger Brook and unnamed brooks designated A through I on the Official Zoning Map.
[Amended 10-14-2008 by Ord. No. 07.2008.07; 8-13-2012 by Ord. No. 10.2012.10]
(2) Within 30 feet from the top of bank on both sides of intermittent and perennial streams. These streams are shown on and will correspond to the latest version of the United States Geological Survey Map.
(3) See this section for exceptions.
(1) The establishment or expansion of:
(a) Salt storage sheds.
(b) Junkyards, resource recovery facilities, transfer stations or landfills.
(c) Solid or hazardous waste facilities.
(2) The bulk storage of chemicals, petroleum products or toxic and hazardous materials.
(3) The dumping or disposal of snow and ice collected from roadways and parking areas.
Per 235-17. H. Uses requiring a conditional use permit. A conditional use permit is required for the following uses in the WC District:
(1) Activities that alter or remove soils or vegetation including clearing, dredging, draining or filling.
(2) Activities which alter the natural drainage system resulting in a change in the flow of water, water level or water table.
(3) Water impoundments for the purpose of creating a waterbody for wildlife, on-site detention of stormwater runoff and/or for recreational uses.
(4) The undertaking of a use not otherwise permitted in the WC District that is permitted in the underlying zoning district, if it can be shown that such proposed use is not in conflict with any and all of the purposes of the WC District.
Yes, you will need a wetlands Conditional Use Permit (CUP) to install a deck within a wetland or its buffer because you will need to excavate/disturb the soil in order to install foundation posts.
Whether you need a permit will depend on what material you plan to make your patio out of. If you are not altering or removing soils or vegetation, and installing pervious patio pavers, you will not be required to get a permit. If your patio is going to be impervious (i.e. made of poured concrete), or you will need to remove vegetation to install the patio, you will need a CUP.
Yes, you will need a wetlands Conditional Use Permit (CUP) to install a driveway within a wetland buffer, per 235-17.H.(1) Activities that alter or remove soils or vegetation including clearing, dredging, draining or filling.
The Department of Public Works should also be contacted in regards to a driveway permit: (603) 528-6379
A wetland Conditional Use Permit is needed when installing/repairing a culvert under 235-17.H.
(2) Activities which alter the natural drainage system resulting in a change in the flow of water, water level or water table.
A checklist of questions that must be answered for your wetlands CUP are on page 8 of the application, found here.
Part of question 1 asks for a “listing of any representative or rare examples of wetland plants or animals” that may be present. This can be found by using the free Natural Heritage Bureau’s (NHB) DataCheck Tool at: https://www2.des.state.nh.us/nhb_datacheck/
Please contact the Conservation Technician in the Planning Department as soon as possible so that they can investigate the incident.DO NOT trespass onto the property seeking photos or information.