Summer Reading 2022

Childrens Summer Reading Sign upChildren's Summer Reading

This summer we’re having a “whale” of a good time in the Children’s Room!

Join us each week as we dive into a sea-son filled with ocean creatures, crafts, and creativity galore! Here’s a sneak peek at some of the adventures we have in “shore” for you:

  • Weekly ocean-themed craft programs!
  • A new performer every Wednesday!
  • Lego Club!
  • Storytime!
  • Music & Movement!
  • A fun prize every week!
  • And more!

This program is open to kids from newborn to age 12, and sign-ups begin June 22nd. You can register by stopping into the Children’s Room, or by calling 524-4775, ext. 602.

Music and Stories (Newborns—age 6)

Friday, July 15 | Music & Movement

Friday, July 29 | Music & Movement

Friday, August 12 | Music & Movement


Wednesday, July 6 | Preschool Storytime

Thursday, July 7 | Preschool Storytime

Wednesday, July 13 | Preschool Storytime

Thursday, July 14 | Preschool Storytime

Wednesday, July 20 | Preschool Storytime

Thursday, July 21 | Preschool Storytime

Wednesday, July 27 | Preschool Storytime

Thursday, July 28 | Preschool Storytime

Wednesday, August 3 | Preschool Storytime

Thursday, August 4 | Preschool Storytime

Wednesday, August 10 | Preschool Storytime

Thursday, August 11 | Preschool Storytime


Family Crafts (Ages 3-12)

Saturday, July 9 | Drop-In Rock Painting

Monday, July 11 | Fork Painted Puffer Fish

Monday, July 18 | Yarn Turtles

Monday, July 25 | Balloon Jellyfish

Monday, August 1 | Ocean Sand Art

Monday, August 8 | Ocean Zen Gardens


Movies (Ages 3-12)

Thursday, June 16 | Finding Nemo

Thursday, July 21 | Moana

 

Lego Club (Ages 5-12)

Tuesday, July 5 | Lego Club

Tuesday, July 19 | Lego Club

Tuesday, August 2 | Lego Club

 

Wednesday Specials (Newborns—age 12)

Wednesday, July 6 | Little Red Wagon

Wednesday, July 13 | Stories with Simon Brooks and Free Books!

Wednesday, July 20 | Steve Blunt & Marty Kelley: Songs and Stories!

Wednesday, July 27 | Squam Lakes Science Center: Aquatic Critters

Wednesday, August 3 | Sea Animal Movement with Living Shores Aquarium 

Wednesday, August 10 | Wildlife Encounters

 

Teen Summer Reading BeginsTeen Summer Reading

  • No Sign-ups required!
  • For grades 6-12.
  • Enter a Summer Reading Raffle with weekly gift bags full of small prizes and featuring a gift card from one of our local restaurants: Wayfarer, Burrito Me, or the Laconia Village Bakery.
  • Each hour read is an entry. Fill out a ticket every week tallying all hours read, or fill out our online form.
  • Form: https://forms.gle/zS8WDWYx16f42pFm9 
  • Extra prizes for top readers! Top reader prizes include a variety of kits (journal, drawing, art, or calligraphy). The top reader chooses first!
  • All accumulated raffle tickets will go towards the Grand Prize Raffle for a Kindle Fire!
  • 4th and 5th graders who want to participate may submit tickets for gift bags and reader prizes.

Kids through Teens

Saturday, July 2 | S'mores and Giant Jenga

Friday, July 22 | Squirt Gun Painting

Saturday, July 30 | Paint by Stickers

Friday, August 5 | Ocean Slime

Teens (ages 9-18)

Friday, July 8 |  Teen Tie Dye

Tuesday, July 12 |  Beach Ball Decorating

Tuesday, July 26 |  Sand Art Bottles

Tuesday, August 9 |  Sea Shell Soap